Categories
Ham Radio Crash Course Youtube

Quick Start: Learn To Copy Morse Code

Quick Start:  Learn To Copy Morse Code

For most, the major hurdle to learning Morse Code is receiving and understanding the code, e.g. copy the code. Today I give you a method to start practicing today and four applications, PC, Android or iOS to get started.

I’ll be back again soon to talk practicing transmitting Morse Code

Recommended approach:
– Follow the Koch method
– Set character speed to 15-20 words per minute
– Set Farnsworth spacing to 5-10 effective words per minute
– practice at least 15 minutes a day
– Continue to add Koch character pairs to your practice until you recognize the tones.

Recommended apps:
G4FON: https://www.g4fon.net/
Morse Toad iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/morse-toad/id906586079
Morse Toad Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.mikelovesrobots.morsetoad.redux&hl=en_US&gl=US
Morse Machine iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/morse-machine/id1455507957
Morse Machine Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.iu4apc.morsemachine&hl=en_US&gl=US
Morse Elmer iOS: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/morse-elmer/id414371107
Morse Mentor Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.smokyink.morsecodementor&hl=en_US&gl=US

Want the best HT antenna? Signal Stuff Signal Stick https://signalstuff.com/?ref=622 (This is an affliate link)

Support Ham Radio Crash Course Content
Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/hoshnasi (includes monthly newsletter, stickers and Patron perks)
YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/c/HamRadioCrashCourse/membership (includes early access to videos, membership YT badge and custom emojis)
Shop HamTactical: http://www.hamtactical.com
Shop Our Affiliates: http://hamradiocrashcourse.com/affiliates/
Shop Our Amazon Store: https://www.amazon.com/shop/hamradiocrashcourse
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Current Shack Config (includes affiliate links)
ICOM 7300: https://amzn.to/2PKBpmZ
SteppIR 3E Yagi: https://consumer.steppir.com/shop/horizontal-antennas/3-element-antenna-products/3-element-yagi-antenna-with-30-40-loop-dipole-package/
ICOM 2730a: https://amzn.to/2JqrASg​
MFJ-4230DMP: https://mfjenterprises.com/products/mfj-4230dmp?_pos=1&_sid=6905628a7&_ss=r

Connect with Ham Radio Crash Course
Website……………….► http://hamradiocrashcourse.com
YouTube………………► https://www.youtube.com/c/HamRadioCrashCourse
Twitch………………….► https://m.twitch.tv/hamradiocrashcourse
Podcast……………….► https://hamradiocrashcourse.podbean.com/
Discord………………..► https://discord.gg/xhJMxDT
Facebook…………….► https://goo.gl/cv5rEQ
Twitter………………….► https://twitter.com/Hoshnasi
Instagram……………..► https://instagram.com/hoshnasi
Physical Mail………….►Josh Nass P.O Box 5101 Cerritos, CA 90703-5101

Music by Sonic D:
Soundcloud.com/sncd
Twitter.com/sncd
Facebook.com/djsonicd

#HRCC #hamradio #amateurradio